1. Guest,
    We need good tech writers that are willing to help out here at ZL-OA. If you like taking photos of jobs as you perform the steps on your repairs, have historical ads/documents from old magazines, or any else you think belongs in the Technical Library than you might be able to help. Send a private message to Furchin, Mudrunner88, Chris, Jarney, Wuputt, or Markus56 and we can lead you in the right direction to get started.
    Dismiss Notice

Zl 600 skipping

Joe Apr 14, 2019

1. Joe

Joe New Member

The 86 zl600 i have seems to break up a bit after 5500rpm you can hear it when its not under power and feel it under power all the way up to 8k then clears to 11k. It also sounds like it has an exhaust leak however it does not. Im wondering where to start for diag on it im still new to zl bike.

2. R. J.

R. J. Supporting Member

:hello: It can be more than one thing going on. Pull your spark plugs & compare them to each other. Mark them 1,2,3,4 as you take them out so that you know which one is from what cyn. It could be that you have dirt/rust in your carbs. Drain each float bowl & check them for dirt. Some times sea foam will help clean the jets.

3. Joe

Joe New Member

Just rebuilt carbs and cleaned them very well and changed plugs as well as checked out the boots and wires. Plugs have about 400 miles on them and are still clean. I also reset the valve lash and verified it again after some run time. Im hung up on the sound of an exhaust leak which did not start until this morning. I went through the entire exhaust from header to end and there are no leaks but it sure as hell sounds like there is one. Should have lead with what i had already done to it previously. I just got the bike and it was sitting in storage for a long long time. So went through and did the usual maintenance for a bike sitting so long. Pretty sure it had original plugs in it and it damn sure had original factory tires on it.

4. prfixer

prfixer Senior Member Supporting Member