1. Guest,
    We need good tech writers that are willing to help out here at ZL-OA. If you like taking photos of jobs as you perform the steps on your repairs, have historical ads/documents from old magazines, or any else you think belongs in the Technical Library than you might be able to help. Send a private message to Furchin, Mudrunner88, Chris, Jarney, Wuputt, or Markus56 and we can lead you in the right direction to get started.
    Dismiss Notice

new ZL1000A

Guest Sep 3, 2007

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Hi,

I just bought my first Eliminator - am I excited! The bike has 39,000 miles (I know, that's a lot!). Other than normal service maintenance, what should be the FIRST thing that I should plan on doing to avoid $$$ repairs in the future. The bike runs fine, no smoke, lots of power, etc...

Any suggestions and comments are appreciated!

Thanks,

FL-Rider

2. ARCHIVE_Wuputt

ARCHIVE_Wuputt Guest

Fl-rider, congrats on your new ZL! I have been riding my ZL1k for 5 years now, have 27,000 on the clock. These are VERY reliable motors! There are a few things that I will recommend. First, 39,000 is not terrible depending on how well it has been serviced. Most important is keeping good clean oil in it! Check your rubber boots on both sides of the carbs for cracks, any crack is a power thief ( if they are leaking) good way to check if they are leaking is, start the bike run at idle and spray WD-40 on the boots, if you notice a change in the idle speed you need new boots and yes they are getting hard to come by. Next, I would pull the bolt out of the back of the tank mount, brace the back of the tank up. You will notice a 1/4" tube coming out of thebottom of the tank, this is your tank vent. Pull the fill cap off, stuff a rag loosely down in the tank and blow into that tube with compressed air. This will insure that the tank is "breathing" properly. Next since you already have the tank loose in the back, go ahead and pull it off all the way. Pull your plug wires off 1 at