1. Guest,
    We need good tech writers that are willing to help out here at ZL-OA. If you like taking photos of jobs as you perform the steps on your repairs, have historical ads/documents from old magazines, or any else you think belongs in the Technical Library than you might be able to help. Send a private message to Furchin, Mudrunner88, Chris, Jarney, Wuputt, or Markus56 and we can lead you in the right direction to get started.
    Dismiss Notice

My new 86' ZL 600!

Theodore Dekeyser Jul 19, 2019

1. Theodore Dekeyser

Theodore Dekeyser New Member

Hey everyone I'm a newb here and I just picked up my first ZL 600! Until I saw the add on OfferUp I wasn't even aware of the ZL's existence. After briefly scanning the add I went to Google "Kawasaki ZL 600 1986" and immediately I see that it's a cruiser with the ZX600 Ninja engine from that year! Sweet it sounds like a perfect project bike that I've been looking for. Priced at 600$ and been listed for 2 months I was able to get it for 400$ although it doesn't currently start, missing the title and doesn't even have a key for the ignition. I ran the VIN and it's clear...no theft, no lein, no accidents. So that's good. I trailered it home and here are some picks... It's a bit more work than I wanted but all in all is a good foundation. Minimal to no rust, no dents. But how long has it sat? Tires where produced in 1995 and no license plates so where looking at 20 years or longer maybe. It's got 14k on the odometer.

Attached Files:

2. 87kawzl

87kawzl Supporting Member

Ever go through the title process on something like that?

Probably should have had the original owner apply for a lost title and it would have saved you some time and $.

3. R. J.

R. J. Supporting Member